erika: Reboot!James T. Kirk, Anne Taintor style lettering:  It's so /involved/ being me. (st aos: so invoooolved (jtk))
[personal profile] erika
So, doctor is still pretty sure I have fibromyalgia, but some of the tests came back positive for inflammation (that shouldn't have) and they've been like that for years, so I'm seeing a rheumatologist on Wednesday to rule out, like——rheumatology things. Arthritis? I don't know. Stuff.

She wants to double check and rule out lupus, lyme, a number of autoimmune diseases... although I do not have Lyme, as far as they can tell. 'As far as they can tell' (as many people online can inform you) is not very far, but my lifestyle (staying inside almost all the time, suburbia with low incidence of Lyme, dogs who get skin treated for ticks every month) is not particularly likely even if I did have most of the symptoms of a chronic or recent infection, which I don't. So... yeah.

Interestingly, every single generally healthy person I know (with the exception of two, [livejournal.com profile] elfbabe and Josh's aunt Lisa) has said "oh, fibromyalgia, that's good!"

It's not goddamn good. I appreciate their attempts to be positive (barely), but their sensitivity needs some major fucking work. When you start looking at the list of things that they have to rule out and HOPE for Lyme Disease, because that's theoretically treatable... this is not a good place to be. And people don't want to recognize that.

What's even worse—and you wouldn't think it would be—is that my family members and friends ARE now willing to recognize that I need accomodations. (Mostly family members.) I've already gotten offers of help and questions about how they need to change their behavior or what accessibility / accommodations I need, and it's not that I don't appreciate it, but I just feel like ... six months ago my symptoms were exactly the same but nobody thought it was a physical illness, and I got jack shit from you people.

So it's like... who's dropped the ball here? The three dozen doctors I've seen who should've CONTEMPLATED this diagnosis YEARS ago? The people who are now suddenly trying to be helpful when before it was ignorable because whatever was wrong was all in my head? The people making insensitive comments about how great it is that I now know I have a chronic, incurable disease because it may or may not be treatable?

Ignorance is only bliss because it allows for hope.

(Also, one of my closest friends actually asked me how I could have a condition that is known for chronic pain since I used to self-injure.

I was basically like, how is that sequence of words even a fucking THING that just was communicated to me? What the hell kind of filters do you have that you actually SAID THAT to ANYONE? HOW DOES THIS WORK?

[Also, I did handle it at the time, and I'm just using it as an example of how people say THE WEIRDEST SHIT BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO SAY. So don't worry that this person is horrible, because they really aren't, it was just a fucked up thing to say, is my point, and people are saying stupid shit like that ALL THE TIME.])

I don't even want to talk about how EVERY FUCKING PERSON has said "oh, that makes sense" but I'm going to anyway.

Yes, when I tell them that I probably have fibromyalgia, the next words out of their mouth are "oh, that makes a lot of sense"——OKAY THEN WHY DIDN'T ANYONE EVER MENTION IT TO ME aslkdfja;lkdjfa;lkdfja;lkdjf ARRGGGH.

At least my social worker apologized for never thinking of that explanation before, she said it was because I never mentioned being in pain constantly.

And I really struggle, because isn't that just complaining? What the fuck, people—make up your goddamn minds. People in my life, you have a choice to make: you can tell me you don't want to hear me complain because it's whining but if you do that, then YOU CAN'T FUCKING TELL ME I NEVER COMPLAINED SO YOU DIDN'T KNOW ANYTHING WAS WRONG.

(My social worker did not do this. Many other people in my life have. Mostly family.)

Regardless, the appropriate reaction to someone telling you they're likely going to be formally diagnosed with a chronic physical illness that has no cure and no medication that works for more than 1/3rd of people at any time is not: "oh, right, I guess I should probably have given a shit about the fact that you're totally exhausted and can't think coherently and had constant muscle pain all the time before this, huh."

On the other hand, people who have chronic MI have been the people saying "god, that sucks, I'm sorry" and the people saying "wow, I'd be super angry no one figured this out before" and saying "oh, I have a friend who has that, do you want me to ask them if you can have their email address"? So, so grateful for people who have experience with how compassion and validation can absolutely be the best thing to offer someone.

On the gripping hand, I still had to explain to Josh that telling me that things would get better now that we knew was NOT HELPFUL when what I wanted was him to agree with me that things sucked NOW, and I had to make that explanation in the very tiniest words possible while I was sobbing my eyes out.

On the fourth paw, I actually had to fire the first physical therapist I saw last week because she was amazingly dickish. I guess at least I'm standing up for myself now but I've never FIRED a doctor before.

On the fifth tentacle, we finally found a house! But now we have to move. And I have to pack.

I don't even know anymore, I have like twelve more appendages, but regardless, here it is. Here is my pain, here is what is going through my head——just take it, this morass of words and confusion and pain, write it down on a piece of paper, crumple it into a ball, throw it away for me, please. I want to be after this, not during it.

There is only during. There is no after. That's what this word, chronic, means.




Still———

Having a new diagnosis is having a different lens with which to view the world. Writing this, I realize I'm no longer angry with all the "oh, that makes so much sense" people because I see that now. I know my frustrations remain valid, regardless, yet it's the "oh!" of recognition that they uttered, not a dismissal.

And I do know what it's like to have these things come into focus. How many times have I laid in bed, while my brain plays the part of optometrist and says "1, or ... 2? 1, or 2?" while flipping the lenses: no chronic illness, chronic illness. No chronic illness... or chronic illness? Lazy, or sick? Broken, or healing? Unwilling to try or stubborn enough to keep going?

And I say to myself: "two," and I get up. I take the pain killers and I stretch gently and I pace myself. It's coming into focus.

on Tuesday, July 9th, 2013 05:50 pm (UTC)
februaryfour: baby yoda with mug (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] februaryfour
Fibromalgia is not good, yuck. *hugs*

However, don't wish for Lyme. Please. I know someone with Lyme disease who would gladly trade. Supposedly treatable = pain no one believes (she gets told she's shamming it all the time even as she can't even get out of bed because it hurts too much), and she's wheelchair-bound, and her life expectancy is anyone's guess (she often gets the "how are you still alive?" treatment).
Edited on Tuesday, July 9th, 2013 05:50 pm (UTC)

on Tuesday, July 9th, 2013 06:41 pm (UTC)
februaryfour: baby yoda with mug (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] februaryfour
I wasn't commenting that you should be thankful. My first line was expressing sympathy unconditionally. You did say in your entry that you wished it was Lyme (or at least, it sounded that way), and I just wanted you not to wish for that because that was just as bad (if not worse). I'm sorry you took it the other way.

on Sunday, August 11th, 2013 12:03 am (UTC)
untonuggan: Lily and Chance squished in a cat pile-up on top of a cat tree (buff tabby, black cat with red collar) (lyme awareness)
Posted by [personal profile] untonuggan
I have Lyme AND Fibromyalgia (or "Post-Lyme Fibromyalgia", as some doctors like to call it). They both suck. I can't take oral antibiotics anymore, so I'm stuck with the symptoms I've got and the skepticism from doctors on both diseases (because doctors tend not to believe fibro pain either, or believe that people with fibro are drug seekers, or that we're "crazy," or some combo of the above.)

The ridiculously amazingly wonderful thing when I was first diagnosed with Lyme after eight years with Fibromyalgia and a year of horrible joint pain so bad I would scream? The hope that my situation would improve, and I wouldn't be told over and over again to "eat right and exercise more" for my excruciating chronic pain.

It's not about wanting another disease; they all frelling suck in one form or another (and in similar/dissimilar ways). It's about that hope of a cure.

on Tuesday, July 9th, 2013 07:44 pm (UTC)
ofearthandstars: A single tree underneath the stars (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] ofearthandstars
I'm sorry that it's looking like fibromalgia. I can somewhat understand your frustration with people who are saying "oh, that's good that you know what it is now!". When we finally figured out my son's (MH) diagnosis, I got a lot of the same things. And the fact that my son's diagnosis is a chronic lifelong issue that can be helped with drugs with nasty side effects and will likely always be there in some form or another...well, it does not make me feel better to have people say "Oh, well that's good that you know". We struggled with symptoms for years and years and everyone just thought it was a behavior problem or discipline issue and only now (when things got to their absolute worst) did people finally up and realize that it wasn't.

*sigh* Sorry, not trying to make this post about me...just...commiserating with the way in which people try to offer support but sometimes blindingly fail at it. I will admit that I don't understand what the pain you experience is like, but if there's anything supportive I can do from my end, please let me know.

on Tuesday, July 9th, 2013 08:37 pm (UTC)
kaberett: Trans symbol with Swiss Army knife tools at other positions around the central circle. (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] kaberett
This sucks, right now. And it will keep sucking, intermittently, but hopefully, yes, things will come into focus and you will still have the days when you can't find your FUCKING glasses and those are never going to stop being shit, but- but.

Love. Love and welcome and recognition and enjoy your stay.

(I am not fibro. I am in constant pain & I can't forsee a future when I won't need medicating for my mental illness, and aren't incurable chronic illnesses great, but - yes. Hello.)
Edited on Tuesday, July 9th, 2013 08:37 pm (UTC)

on Wednesday, July 10th, 2013 12:04 am (UTC)
shanaqui: River from Firefly. (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] shanaqui
For me, not knowing what's going on would be infinitely worse than any diagnosis, because my anxiety can play much more hell with uncertainty, even if the certainty isn't of anything good. So if I've said "at least now you know", that's where I'm coming from. ♥ And I'd personally like it better even without the anxiety issue, because I like to know how much I can hope for, rather than ever find I've been hoping for too much. But that really is just me and I hope I haven't put that on you (or anyone else).

Regardless of any asinine comments I may make, I can imagine how much it sucks for you right now and you have my unconditional love and sympathy.

on Wednesday, July 10th, 2013 11:25 am (UTC)
alwayswondered: A closeup of a woman's hands with plasters over the fingers. (ain't my hands & these legs ain't mine)
Posted by [personal profile] alwayswondered
I'm sorry it's looking like fibro. I know nothing about fibro itself except what I've read from people on DW and LJ who have it, but I do know that it sucks to feel disbelieved and invalidated for so long.

I'm sorry things are so shit for you right now.

on Wednesday, July 10th, 2013 11:31 am (UTC)
elialshadowpine: (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] elialshadowpine
Okay, so, having been on this merry go round... do you want a list of the blood tests they should (but might not) run? I ask because I got checked for RA by two different specialists before my GP ran a couple tests that... amazingly... nobody else had thought to run, despite being fairly standard. At this point, it is sadly too common for them to run ANA and Rheumetoid Factor tests, which sucks for you if you happen to be seronegative (meaning that you test negative for autoimmune specific tests) (which I am).

Cause, they should be checking all that stuff thoroughly, and despite all that, I wasn't diagnosed with my RA until 2010 even though I was diagnosed with fibro in 2004. (It was not a misdiagnosis; I have both. I really won the genetic lottery...)

*BIG HUGS* offered, I have so much sympathy.

on Thursday, July 11th, 2013 03:37 am (UTC)
elialshadowpine: (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] elialshadowpine
Augh! Sorry, I went to bed and only just woke up... http://www.webmd.com/rheumatoid-arthritis/guide/blood-tests actually has a fairly comprehensive list of the tests. In my case, it was the ESR and CRP that were elevated and that helped me get my diagnosis (it is a little harder with seronegative because then you have to look at physical symptoms because lupus and RA share a lot in common; in my case, while I was getting rashes, I didn't have the malar rash, so it was diagnosed as RA).

on Thursday, July 11th, 2013 07:45 am (UTC)
elialshadowpine: (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] elialshadowpine
For what it's worth, my ESR was elevated only a bit (I think the test number was 26, and anything over 20-ish is off... but normally people with RA have it something like above 40), but the CRP was 4 when it is normally below .5... or something like that. I could be misremembering the numbers; I have a WICKED migraine at the moment, 4th this week, and looking at having to deal with more of them until I can take a withdrawal week on the 21st. Sigh.

But yes make sure the specialist doesn't pooh-pooh because the levels are elevated but not enormously. The specialist that diagnosed me told me that it meant that they caught it early and that it was even more important to get me on medication to *keep* it from getting to the point it would show up on bloodwork, vs. saying "oh it's not that bad" and letting it GET that bad.

on Saturday, July 13th, 2013 12:04 pm (UTC)
enemyofperfect: a spray of orange leaves against a muted background (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] enemyofperfect
You continue to have my sympathy, but now on even more fronts. That's such a double-edged thing, people recognizing that there's a serious problem once there's a probable diagnosis, but not before. Selective validation... kind of isn't really?

(And, no aspersions against your friend's general awesomeness intended, but what is that about chronic pain and self-injury being somehow incompatible? I just... what? If we're going for superficially paradoxical situations, I've used self-inflicted pain to manage other acute physical pain I was simultaneously experiencing, so I'm pretty sure there are more things in heaven and earth, here.)

There is so much in this entry. The clarity of the metaphor at the end is amazing, but I think I have at least as much admiration for the tangle that precedes it. Engaging with and talking about something that hasn't yet settled into a more stable and knowable form can be really hard, at least for me. But I think it can also be really valuable.

on Tuesday, August 13th, 2013 07:25 am (UTC)
enemyofperfect: a spray of orange leaves against a muted background (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] enemyofperfect
I'm trying to do this more often. It's very difficult. I want things to be neatly resolved. That's not how life is. sigh.

Yes to all of this. Damn it.

Profile

erika: (Default)
Erika

November 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2 345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Monday, March 23rd, 2026 09:26 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios