erika: (me: heart)
[personal profile] erika
I'm getting better. Slowly. Frustratingly slowly. But not because of the pneumonia or anything like that... That's seeming gone now, and really that would be too easy. One opportunistic infection just isn't enough for me!

Finished the antibiotics for the lung infection last Monday. Nipple looked ... off but it wasn't painful. However by Wednesday the excruciating fucking pain made it clear that I had developed another fucking nipple infection/non-lactional mastitis/minor periductal abscess.

(So long history short: in 2011, I had breast surgery on my right breast, twice, for repeated periductal abscess. One of which was 11cm long—so big it actually curved around my breast. They threatened me with a complete ductectomy if the abscess recurred again, but it didn't.

Five years later in 2016 [probably because I didn't quit smoking tobacco in 2011 like I should have] I fucking got another one. But this time, in my left breast. I didn't get surgery right away—even though that probably would have meant it didn't come back— because the first surgeries were psychologically traumatizing and I kept thinking it wouldn't come back.

[I did quit smoking tho. 4 years tobacco free at this point.]

The initial left breast infection was in Feb. 2016 receded in March, then reoccurred in June (probs 'cause I was living in my car for a couple weeks), and stuck around until (iirc) December '16 or January 2017. I had literally just moved across the country and started working full time so I didn't think it was a good time to have surgery, although in retrospect, I wish I had, of course. As I was on antibiotics the entire length of the infection, I'd just squeeze pus out of it every time I changed my ice packs at work and every half an hour at home. Thank god for cannabis (at home) and ice. Looking back I'm not sure how I managed, and as much as I wish I'd kept up with my journal I can't fault myself for anything I did then.

yeah hahahahahahaha. Thinking it wouldn't come back? Thinking I could get away without having surgery? Infection's come back 3 times so far and every time since I haven't been able to get surgery—first time I had nowhere to live (June 2016), second time (February 2018) I didn't have insurance because I had to drop Medicare due to being too broke [picked it back up ASAP], and now I can't get surgery because there's a fucking world-wide outbreak of a novel contagious virus.

Oh, and I can't get treatment (antibiotics) before I get surgery because they need the evil duct to be severely inflamed so they yank the correct overgrown boil. Basically, I have to stay in severe pain and risk infection traveling into my lymph/blood system for as long as it takes until they can schedule surgery. In California right now they're only doing surgery if there is no other treatment AND you will die within the next two weeks without it. Okay then!

Annnnnnd now we're caught up.)


Called in to see my new practitioner over video chat, he set me up with a shiny new inhaler and told me he'd need a 'discharge sample'. That's the delightful shit you don't wanna hear when the infection is on one of the most sensitive places of your body—drop in and squeeze out some wound-juice for me, Erika! Just in case!

So I then got to run by his office where a security guard and nurse tag-teamed me with a thermometer. I was trying to figure out how I'd explain the fever I might be running that probably had absolutely nothing to do with any kind of viral infection and how was I supposed to explain that—yank down my shirt and show them my pus-filled left titty?

Moot point as I wasn't running a fever. However, in the two hours since the video call I had developed some very sexy red streaks running streaks from my nipple towards my heart, though! Hooray for signs of blood infection. Everybody got gratifyingly scared when I told them about the red streaks, which is about my only amusement right now.

At least the antibiotics are working. Again. It's day 5 of 7 and I might not even need to take week 2, which would be a) a first and b) great because I want a fucking drink, goddamnit. As I've been telling everyone:

Y'all living your best Quarantini life and I've been on antibiotics/NSAIDs since March 1st?! WHAT THE FUCK. I was made for day drinking!

But! Whenever this comes back again (in 2022?), I'm going under the knife immediately and caution be damned.

on Monday, April 6th, 2020 08:46 am (UTC)
oursin: Beatrix Potter's Mrs Tiggywinkle, wearing an apron, clasping her paws, and looking upwards (Mrs Tiggywinkle)
Posted by [personal profile] oursin
Oh, ow, commiserations, that is not what you want at any time, and in particular not at this time. Hope the antibiotics continue to do their good thing.

Re: Praise be to science (tw: racism, death)

on Monday, April 6th, 2020 07:03 pm (UTC)
oursin: Photograph of a statue of Hygeia, goddess of health (Hygeia)
Posted by [personal profile] oursin
There is a reason why Madame C- was all 'yay! scratching for the smallpox!' (Jenner's vaccination): smallpox was a major threat at the time, and although over the C19th there were problems with the introduction of mass vaccination programmes (because of lack of understanding of germ theory and cross-infections), it was still A Boon.

on Monday, April 6th, 2020 02:53 pm (UTC)
worlds_of_smoke: A picture of a brilliantly colored waterfall cascading into a river (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] worlds_of_smoke
owwwww. that sounds like lots of pain. D: I've had hidradenitis cysts on my breasts and you get to the point where you do surgery on yourself to get it gone.

Re: [content: gross]

on Monday, April 6th, 2020 06:30 pm (UTC)
worlds_of_smoke: A picture of a brilliantly colored waterfall cascading into a river (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] worlds_of_smoke
Yeah, I'm a chronic skin picker because yay OCD, so having my hidradenitis in (mostly) remission is a really good thing.

on Monday, April 6th, 2020 03:18 pm (UTC)
Posted by [personal profile] to_do_list
Gosh that sounds awful!

on Tuesday, April 7th, 2020 08:17 pm (UTC)
scatteredshells: A butterfly silhouette atop two human palms that are side-by-side with fingers splayed, held close to viewer, in front of where the head is (arms and shoulders are barely visible around edges of the image) (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] scatteredshells
Oh my gods EEEEK *wraps his body around you protectively*

on Friday, April 10th, 2020 09:47 pm (UTC)
enemyofperfect: a spray of orange leaves against a muted background (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] enemyofperfect
Oh my gosh, so much sympathy. I hope you continue to get better!

Profile

erika: (Default)
Erika

November 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2 345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Monday, March 23rd, 2026 06:08 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios