did they tell her?

Wednesday, October 27th, 2010 03:31 pm
erika: (quotes: poetry: pass the time)
Comment and I will:

1. Tell you why I friended/circled you.
2. Associate you with something - a fandom, song, color, photo, etc.
3. Tell you something I like about you.
4. Tell you a memory I have of you.
5. Ask you something I've wanted to know about you.
6. Tell you my favorite user pic from your list.
7. In return, you need to post this on your own journal. Or not. You don't have to!
erika: (Default)
Is there a browsing addicts anonymous? I have 27 Firefox windows open. Sheesh. (Oh wait. 12 hours after I wrote that, I now have 30 open, says grouping tabs on windows taskbar. Epic Fail or Score?)




Great customer service: my pharmacy actually figured out which drug I was out of and dispensed it to my boyfriend when he randomly showed up, despite the fact that I was feeling so out of it I didn't call them in advance or notify them in any way that I needed a refill. (And I have taken um... 7 or so different medications in the last 3 months? Something like that. So pretty impressive.)

Or wait. Maybe Chance rememb—no, he told me that he had no idea what they filled, I remember because I asked about the size of the bottle. (Effexor bottle = bigger than most others.)




It's probably "wrong" or something that I think this questionable content strip would actually be an awesome birthday present.* Pintsize = hat so black it's encompassed within its Schwarzschild radius.

(Dude.
That was an awesome joke,
and it just came out! YAY.
Kudos for me.)

*I mean, obv., if you're going
to mass produce it, it would
have to be fake, like those
lottery tickets. Only way better.
It would suck if the person
wasn't quick enough
to avert war, tho.
Maybe present explodes in glitter
if successfully disarmed
OR if "bomb" goes off?

Man, this is my second great
commercial idea in like, 20 minutes.
(The other one was Vegan Survivor.)
Don't lie. You know it would be amazing.
Hahahaha.

When I think about it,
because half the vegans
I know are smokers,
it'd be even better
Some reason, the thought of emo detox fits?
Hilarious.

WATCH OUT, BUTTER.
I AM ON A ROLL.**

**note to self: icon this

erika: (wow)
A friend of mine, whom you may know as Javina, has been talking about privacy in the wake of some problems involving her journals being used as ammunition against her new girlfriend by that girlfriend's ex, along with her 10 year journalling anniversary, and in a roundabout way has asked for my opinion, as someone who's mildly infamous for saying exactly whatever the fuck I feel like.

So. Privacy and honesty. It comes down to: Why journal, if someone's going to use it against you? Why not just write things down privately, and keep it for yourself? In the end, I write this journal for myself, but not only for myself as I exist right now. I also write for the me that will be in the future and the other people who will read this entry at whatever time.

Why do it? Because, in my life and in my mind, honesty gets too damn rare. )
erika: (lyrics: take the elevator)
I want a puppy so bad my head is going to explode.

Animal shelter tomorrrrrrrrow, for online I have seen the cutest puppy EVER.




In other news, I was seriously tempted to just post an mp3 of "Goodbye & Thanks for All The Fish" from the Hitchhiker's Movie & have that be my final post. Appropos, I think, but a little overdramatic and unnecessary.

I'm compositing, compiling—performance art? seriously?—and carefully considering my answers.

Part of the reason I got miffed is that I've been writing a lot of stories in my other journal, and there I'm rewarded for putting time and effort into a piece of literature. Yet the quality of writing is, on the whole, not that much better than here—and here's only worse because occasionally I post things like "I want a puppy."

So is it because I'm writing about my life, and ongoing events therein, and therefore what I'm writing is explicitly personal?

Is it because, as [livejournal.com profile] the_xtina suggested, my readers/flist reacts to an aura of noli me tangere (don't touch) emanating, regardless of whether or not I consciously claim that vibe or not?

Is it because I make obscure literary references and pile sentence upon sentence without end, ten dollar words and complicated language from reading too many novels and the intricate logic built up by dedicated attempts to be taken seriously as a precocious child in an adult's world, now seen as pretentious?

I'm still smarting/bemused by the idea of this journal as performance art, though.
erika: (me: don't panic!)
I've been having conflicting thoughts about trying to update daily for a while now, especially since I signed up for Holidailies.

You may certainly ask "If you're having conflicting thoughts, why sign up for something that says you promise to update every day?" Answer: Everyone else was doing it! Really!

It seems to come down to quality versus quantity, the relevant arguments of which can be summed up as so:

  • update sporadically, but when "inspired"—that feeling of guidance and of a higher purpose.

  • update every day, with or without that pansy "inspiration" which is just a word that people who are not really writers use to excuse being lazy and not trying.



For example, take Nanowrimo. Now, if I am going for quality, I am very definitely anti-writing 50k in a month—come on! That's ridiculous.* But if I am going for quantity, 50k is genius! I should be doing that much every week!

So after a small amount of consideration (because I am getting sleepy) I think perhaps the problem is not so much quality versus quantity, it is quality in a certain amount of quantity.

In other words: I could write genius Oscar Wilde / Dorothy Parker type quips and anagrams, but if they're buried beneath a hundred pages of unreadable crap, then I'm just Dave Eggers.

Nobody would read my journal if I only updated every week (which is about how often I really feel inspired, and lately not even that much) but at the same time, posting every day just to, well, Post Every Day seems impossible for me to do.

I'll keep trying to find that fucking elusive balance. Meantime, doesn't it always seem like the solution to being adult is to find the middle ground and compromise? (Occasionally losing all moral integrity in the process?) How boring: I still equate compromise with waffling. Pick a side and stick to it, damnit. Next entry I write will probably be "Bisexuality! The Best Compromise You'll Ever Make; Why You Should Not Fear The Dick/Snatch" or "Have Your Girl and Fuck Someone Else Too; Cheating isn't Cheating Unless You Get Caught".

* Participating in Nanowrimo under the Inspiration Model is especially ridiculous when, like this year, I don't (didn't) have a plot. Now there's a Nano that has no chance of being "won"—there's already a "No Plot, No Problem" (lies! No plot, BIG problem!) so I'm fresh out of meta "writing about how I have nothing to write about" ideas. Except for the entry that I am currently, right now, writing. But no way could I have made a novel out of this. Except by rambling on, as I'm doing right now. Though I don't think I could have done that for 50,000 words.




Major snow today; kiddies got a day off from school and my interview for a depression study was postponed for the third time. (I am definitely not the only flake in the world.)

Profile

erika: (Default)
Erika

November 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2 345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom
Page generated Monday, March 23rd, 2026 11:06 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios